About the federal organisation

By Royal Decree of 23 March 2012, Paul Breyne, former governor, was appointed as commissioner general in charge of the commemoration of the First World War. On 1 September 2016, former Deputy Commissioner-General Jean-Arthur Régibeau was replaced by Françoise Gustin, Head of Protocol for the FPS Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation.

Their task is to:

  • act as chairman and vice-chairman respectively of the Organising Committee and monitor the work of the operational working groups with a view to preparing the national commemorative ceremonies and a multi-annual federal programme;
  • ensure consultation at federal level as well as with the federated entities and local and provincial authorities;  
  • liaise with their counterparts in other countries.  

The Organising Committee is made up of representatives from the FPS Chancellery of the Prime Minister, FPS Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation, Ministry of Defence and the WHI.

To guide and assist it in its historical and scientific work, the Organising Committee has decided to set up a consultative Scientific Committee made up of contemporary historians and researchers who are responsible for the various scientific aspects.

The task of the Scientific Committee is to prepare scientific and historical opinions for the Organising Committee, ensure historical accuracy, come up with a fresh narrative for the ceremonies and evaluate the applications submitted as part of the federal call for projects.